L-House Kitchen, Dining, and Family Room

Here is a before picture of the kitchen.  It was original to the house with tiled flooring, countertops and blacksplash.  The kitchen, dining, and family rooms are connected for a nice big space for entertaining and spending time together as a family.

Kitchen

We tore everything out in the family room and kitchen to start with a clean slate.  That post below is holding up part of the house so unfortunately, we could not remove it as it would cost too much.  I had an idea to wrap it with reclaimed wood, but then decided to keep things simple and just painted it.  Plus, I wasn’t sure of how people felt about reclaimed wood and if it’s just a trend now that will date the house in a few years.

Family Room

Both rooms get a fair amount of natural light so I knew they would look pretty nice once we swapped out everything.

Kitchen

Here is the brand new kitchen!  Our contractor ordered white shaker style cabinets from Home Depot and put in this large farmhouse apron sink from IKEA.  I love farmhouse sinks and can’t wait to get one in my own house.  The simple pendant light above the sink is from Lowes.  We used the same gray tile throughout the entry way, dining room, and kitchen (and again, please excuse the construction dust on the floor).  I chose a dark gray granite countertop to match the flooring.  Originally, I was trying to find a granite that resembled marble but it was over budget, and in the end, I liked having the countertops match the floor and how it breaks up all the white on the cabinets and subway tile backsplash.  The nobs and pulls are from amazon and looked quite nice for the price.  I wished I had told my contractor beforehand that I wanted the pulls in the center of the drawers rather than at the top.  Small details…

The window looks out into the pool area so I had the granite built to extend outside the window for a small bartop outside for ease of passing food and drinks.

6G9A3743

See the counter area below?  That is my coffee bar.  I’ve been wanting to create a coffee bar ever since we went to this restaurant, SQRL, in LA where we sat at the counter for breakfast.   (The breakfast is great by the way!)   If it were my house, I would have put in a chalk board paint area but kept it neutral for this house.  I imagined putting 3 bar stools here with a nice espresso machine, soda stream, and some open shelving up top for displaying cups and glasses.  This was one of those things which was probably unnecessary from a resale perspective, but just something I wanted to do.  The chandelier is from pottery barn and was surprisingly affordable.  I saw it at a friend’s house and really liked the black color and how simple it looks.

If I were living here, I would put in some built in around the dining area to make more efficient use of the space and give it some character.

6G9A3739

Lastly is the family room.  We repainted the family room, kitchen, dining room, and entry way in Behr Subtle Touch, which is a light gray color with some tint of blue undertones.  The flooring is the same medium toned wood that was used in the living room.  The sliding doors open into a concrete area in the back yard which is great for entertaining.  We added a white pergola attached to the house, which helped define an outdoor dining space.  To the right is a view of the swimming pool.  This is a very bright and happy space for the family to gather.

6G9A3745

I designed the house to suite a young family like ours and it turned out that all of the bids we got were from young families.  But more on that later…

Leave a Reply

