Michelin Star Dim Sum

Who would have thought that there are Michelin Star Dim Sum restaurants? Tim Ho Wan is a 1 Michelin Star Dim Sum chain located in Hong Kong.  While shopping for fabric in Sham Shui Po (which was incredibly cheap at about 75 cents to $2 per yard), I decided to try this dim sum place, which was conveniently located within a 5-10 minute walk from the fabric vendors.  When I’m traveling by myself for work, I will plan my eating around places I want to shop.  If I’m with E, we’ll plan our trip around where he wants to eat.  Priorities…

Having dim sum by myself is quite depressing because there are so many things that I wanted to try but only so much room in my stomach.  So, I only ordered 4 things, one was a vegetable which I didn’t bother photographing because it wasn’t much to write home about, but eating veggies is healthy and a must for every meal.  However, the other standard dim sum items that I typically order were pretty outstanding.

IMG_0847

This bean curd wrap filled with shrimp and meat was quite good.  Nothing amazing, but definitely one of the better ones I’ve tasted.

IMG_0846

I ordered these steam ribs just to show my sister because this is one of her favorite items, and I would say this is the best I have ever tasted.  The consistency of the meat was tender and juicy but the flavor was what really got me.  It was so flavorful and delicious, definitely a bit on the fatty side, but really good.

IMG_0844

Lastly, I tried the Shrimp dumplings (Ha Gao) and it was definitely the best I had ever tasted.  Prior to this, I really liked shrimp dumplings that I had in Sydney and Vancouver, but these were truly amazing.  The skin was the perfect consistency, firm and not too chewy or thick, and the shrimp was perfectly cooked, almost crunchy, and without any hint of a “fishy” flavor.  Little e can usually eat 2 or 3 bamboo baskets by herself.  I wished my family were there to enjoy it with me.  4 dishes was less than $10 and I got there early so I didn’t have any wait.

There probably are better places that only the locals know about that don’t have all the hype of a Michelin star restaurant so I’ll have to do more research next time.  However, this is still one of the best Dim Sum places that I’ve been to.  Try it out if you’re ever in Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

