The Checkered A-Line Dress

Little e picked out this fabric over a year ago and finally made a dress with it.  She calls it “The Checkered A-Line Dress.”  She designed it herself, starting with a drawing which her teacher helped her make into a pattern.  This dress has a yolk lining and the waist band is finished on both sides.

img_3498

I’m so proud of her!  She put in her own zipper and lined up the waist band perfectly.  It even has darts on it.  The fit was originally a bit wide on her so I had to take it in under the arms 3/4 inch on each side but otherwise, the dress fit perfectly.

img_3499

I’ve actually never made an A-line dress yet, so I learned something from looking at her dress construction.  See the hidden zipper?

img_3542

Let’s hope little e keeps up with this.   E is waiting for her to sew him a suit.  Actually, she did design a purple suit for my dad with a pink polka dotted bow tie (yet to be made).  My dad said he’ll wear it to her wedding.

img_3549

“I picked this fabric because I liked the color.  I got the A-line idea from a picture of an A-line skirt on my sewing machine.  It used to be long but mom said I should shorten it above my knees so it looks better now.  I’m very pleased with it. ”

little e

Alright, I’d better learn how to sew some of my own clothes now that little e is making her own.

Leave a Reply

